Ready, Set, Sew

I had this brain stormy idea to paint my sewing table. Well one of them. It is smallish, brown laminate and cheap. Rather than sanding I am using a product called TSP (trisodium phosphate) that scratches of the shine so you can get right to painting and have no or minimal dust particulates in your area. It’s not quite the temp I would want to be out in the yard doing prep work in. My shop is only a few doors away from my home, still I don a hat, coat and scarf to tip toe over here.

Tell me why does there always have to be a problem? No matter how well intended the project no matter how faboulous the prep? Why Why Why? I just aced myself out of a good week of sewing at that little table. It is my favorite ergonomically correct instrument besides my chair. It is steady, roomy enough to have two machines on and just enough space for a tool tray. I would not put a machine on it again until at least thirty days! I am a freak about paint curing with good reason. I sat a tracing wheel down on a shelf before the paint had hardened properly in mid summer, next time I went to grab it, I grabbed an arm full of shelf and the wheel was stuck. Then I had to sand, clean and repaint and wait the proper time. My temporary table and area are setup, I am just not ‘hearting’ it right this moment. Avoiding

What am I doing instead of machine sewing? Twittering, bedazzling and lots of hand sewing. I do love to stitch by hand. If the stitches are not spot on, that means I get to use my little seam ripper and do it again. Can be fun when not in a hurry or over a deadline. I was also cleaning out some things and will probably have a small stash sale. I have fabric for almost every nation and holiday, that I know I have seen plenty of to last me a few lifetimes.

It’s spring and I am right on target…cleaning, organizing, sprucing, painting, bedazzling and yes sewing.

March 26, 2011. Tags: . Sew.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

